Spotted: Female Downy Woodpecker

I’m quite sure it’s either a Hairy or Downy; I say Downy because of the short bill; I say female because of the missing red cap and white patch on the back). This is another example of confusing wildlife! I took this footage last spring. I watched this woodpecker work on the fence in our backyard for at least 5 minutes before, like sudden inspiration, she looked up at the apple tree above, stared for a second or two, and then shot into its branches never again to return to the fence. I saw her for the next few days before she left for greener pastures. Could this woodpecker really have confused dead with live wood? Hard to believe…

Comment

