Carrier Shopping

In the market for a new rabbit carrier. Now my ideal is a top and front-loading carrier with both a handle on top and a shoulder strap (or, with classic picnic basket style handles) — something sturdy, hard plastic, well ventilated, “stylish” and light-weight — to which a small water bottle can be easily affixed; and, in the lid, a small storage compartment, and a door I could reach through with food or something.

That’s the ideal. The musts are top-loading, hard-sided, and well-ventilated. Really big wants are stylish and light-weight, and some way I could affix a water bottle.

I started out online. I found a few cute new designs, but they’re too small (I want one that can fit a large rabbit, or two rabbits on the small size), and that wicker one is probably just not a good idea, for a bunny.

So cute! But too small
image of a small animal carrier image of a small animal carrier image of a small animal carrier
Top Runner by Riga (unknown) Aladino by Ferplast
image of a small animal carrier image of a small animal carrier image of a small animal carrier
Baggy by Imac from CatsPlay.com SC-420 by Iris

The contenders I’ve found are more traditional in appearance, but they’re a step up from the truly bulky traditional designs. (As you might imagine, I never found my ideal.)

The contenders
image of a cat carrier image of a cat carrier image of a cat carrier
Linus by Imac · Binny by Marchioro · Atlas Open by Ferplast

Although it has no shoulder strap or storage compartment, my favourite so far is the Atlas Open. That top grid is actually a door, and because of how it opens I think it could work fine for slipping my hand in to offer a cuddle or a treat. Also, the front door has enough cross-bars that I think a generic travel water bottle would fit (I think water might spill out of that dish it comes with). As for the Linus and the Binny, I’d be satisfied with either one, but they’re not great: neither look good for attaching water bottles; the Binny looks heavy and has no front entrance; and the Linus has no shoulder strap or storage compartment, and I don’t think it would be easy to slip a hand in without risking the rabbit(s) escaping.

So, that was online “window” shopping. Next, I’m gonna look in local stores, see how that goes. I’m also wondering about making my own from a big heavy-duty rubbermaid-type container.

Comment

